The Rangiaowhia Historic Trust was created as an operational group, which initiated the Rangiaowhia 150th Commemoration day.

(This trust is not administered by ARTB but does come under our umbrella for support.)

This entailed researching Crown lands available to Ngati Apakura and the history behind it, working with the Waipa District Council, Ngapai O Maumahara Tainui group, kaumatua, local marae within the district, farmers, local schools and the community.

Future goals are envisaged as placement of papakainga, which will include education, health and history for Ngati Apakura.

This is all to be ratified by iwi through wananga and hui to be advertised.

The Rangiaowhia Historic Trust Members Are:

Chairperson : Jenny Charman

Secretary/Treasurer : Faye Onehi

Trust Members : Te Ra Wright and Tom Davies

Enquiries : apakurarunangatrust2@gmail.com

Phone 07 871 4525



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s